TCT Career Achievement Award

Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD

Saturday, September 17, 10:45 AM
Clinical Science & Endovascular Theater, Exhibition Level, Hall C

Check the program guide for additional details on TCT 2022 Career Achievement Award.

A world-renowned cardiologist, researcher, and advocate for global heart disease prevention, Dr. Fuster has dedicated his life to improving the treatment of patients with cardiovascular disease. Over the course of his career, he has authored more than 1,000 scientific articles. His research has elevated the knowledge and treatment of coronary artery disease, atherosclerosis, and thrombosis.

Dr. Fuster’s influence extends well beyond cardiology and medicine. His seminal research in early cardiovascular intervention for preschoolers served as the inspiration for the Muppet character Dr. Ruster, a physician on the Spanish-language version of “Sesame Street” who teaches children to make heart-healthy choices through diet and exercise.

Dr. Fuster is the only cardiologist to have received the highest awards for research from the four leading cardiovascular organizations: the American Heart Association (Gold Medal and Research Achievement Award), the American College of Cardiology (Living Legend and Life Achievement Award), the European Society of Cardiology (Gold Medal), and the Interamerican Society of Cardiology (Research Achievement Award). Among the positions of distinction that he has held are president of the American Heart Association, president of the World Heart Federation, and president of the ACC Training Program. In 2022, the American College of Cardiology established a new award in his honor, the Valentin Fuster Award for Innovation in Science. He received the award in its first year.

Dr. Fuster currently serves as Physician-in-Chief of The Mount Sinai Hospital, Director of Mount Sinai Heart, and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology. He is also the General Director of the National Center for Cardiovascular Research or CNIC (equivalent to NHLBI) in Madrid, Spain. His extraordinary clinical achievements and his dedication to global health and public education have earned him the title of doctor honoris causa from 35 universities.

Previous Winners of the TCT Career Achievement Award

Honoring pioneers in interventional cardiovascular medicine.

1994: Geoffrey O. Hartzler, MD
1995: David R. Holmes, Jr, MD
1996: Patrick W. Serruys, MD, PhD
1997: John B. Simpson, PhD, MD
1998: Antonio Colombo, MD
1999: Julio C. Palmaz, MD
2000: Donald S. Baim, MD
2002: William W. O’Neill, MD
2003: J. Eduardo M.R. Sousa, MD, PhD
2004: Eugene Braunwald, MD
2005: James T. Willerson, MD
2006: Paul Yock, MD
2007: Barry T. Katzen, MD

2008: Seung-Jung Park, MD
2009: Spencer B. King III, MD
2010: Alain G. Cribier, MD
2011: Eric J. Topol, MD
2012: Renu Virmani, MD
2013: Andreas Gruentzig, MD
2014: Michael J. Mack, MD
2015: John E. Abele
2016: Runlin Gao, MD
2017: Elazer Edelman, MD, PhD
2018: Bram D. Zuckerman, MD
2019: Robert O. Bonow, MD, MS

CRF Logo

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Get the latest news and information from CRF.

By submitting your email address, you agree to CRF's Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions.

1700 Broadway, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10019
[email protected]

© 2022, Cardiovascular Research Foundation. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy
Terms and Conditions of Use

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read More